On Thursday, four Myanmar Parliamentary candidates requested the
Union Election Commission of Myanmar (UEC) to reverse its decision of not holding a voting poll in Pauktaw Township.

The candidates’ names are, Daw Ma Tin Nyunt (a Pyithu Hluttaw/ Lower House nominee), U Aye Thar Aung (nominee for National Parliament), U Khin Nu (Constituency No 1 State Hluttaw nominee) and U Tun Thein (Constituency No 2 State Hluttaw nominee).
They claimed that the situation in Pauktaw is moderate as they have also visited the electorate recently. They also believe Pauktaw citizens should not be deprived of their electoral rights to elect their representatives (MPs) through the general elections.

On 16th October, UEC has stated that there will be no polls in the Rakhine townships of Maungdaw, Buthidaung, Rathedaung, Ponna Kyun, Kyauk Taw, Mrauk-U, Minbya, Myebon and Pauktaw.