Today, a joint statement co-hosted by the United States, the European Union, the United Kingdom and the United Nations declared an urgent international virtual donor meeting to meet the humanitarian needs.

The statement says, this year the UN has appealed for more than $1 billion in aid to meet the humanitarian needs of Rohingya refugees in Bangladesh, yet less than half has been achieved. The virtual conference will take place on 22nd October that aims to raise urgently needed funds to help vulnerable displaced Rohingya living in and outside of their homeland.

The UK’s Foreign Secretary Dominic Raab said, “The Rohingya people have faced horrific brutality and were forced to flee their homes in the worst circumstances imaginable. We have taken action against the architects of this systemic violence, including through sanctions and we will continue to hold those responsible to account.”

The conference will run from 8 am to 10:30 am Washington; 2 pm to 4:30 pm Geneva; and 7 pm to 9:30 pm Bangkok on 22nd October 2020, and will be live-streamed on www.rohingyaconference.org

Note: Funds raised at the conference will go to international organisations and non-governmental organisations working to alleviate the crisis on the ground in Myanmar, throughout the region, and as specified by the UN-led Joint Response Plan (JRP) in Bangladesh.